mmmm….. Cake

October 25, 2005

I’ve been hearing this Ruby on Rails buzz for a while now and finally decided to have a go. I installed Ruby on my machine, installed Rails Gems but i completely lost track after that. Maybe I didnt read the docs properly. Anyway, I really dont want to learn another programming language at the moment. I’m in love with PHP and i’m very happy.

But couple of weeks ago I heard about Cake, not the ones you bake, but a development framework for PHP that works like Rails. I decided to give it a shot.

Here’s what they have to say about Cake.
Cake is a rapid development framework for PHP which uses commonly known design patterns like ActiveRecord, Association Data Mapping, Front Controller and MVC. Our primary goal is to provide a structured framework that enables PHP users at all levels to rapidly develop robust web applications, without any loss to flexibility.

I started reading the tutorials in the Cake Wiki. The first Tutorial goes like this: Create a database, make a new model, controller and view and write about 10 lines of code. Done!

OMFG. You gotta be kidding me! … that was my first expression. I continued reading and tried to understand how Cake works and I must say, I’m Impressed. I been using my own framework which is basically Smarty, PEAR::DB and about 50 self-written classes tightly bonded togather. I’ve used that to develop all my past projects.

There’s something I didnt like about Cake. Cake lacks templating capabilities and its not possible to separate HTML from PHP. It also doesnt support DB abstraction. I’m saying these becuase i’m coming from a PEAR::DB + Smarty environment.

Cake has not had a major stable release so Im not jumping on Cake at the moment but i’ll keep an eye on it. Looks really delicious!

6 Responses to “mmmm….. Cake”

  1. Mauricio Says:

    Apparently, symfomy has all the stuff you couldn’t find on Cake…

    If you try it, give us an overview too!

  2. hasin Says:

    Well, I think CodeIgniter rocks especially for it’s simplicity and short learning curve. Why not give it a try?


  3. I simply could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I
    extremely loved the usual information a person
    provide in your visitors? Is going to be again regularly in
    order to inspect new posts


  4. Normally I don’t place on blogs, but I’d prefer to
    say that this post really pushed me to perform so!
    excellent post.

  5. Otto Says:

    I Keep listening towards the news to talk about obtaining free online grant applications so we visited the largest
    Internet internet site to get one.


  6. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you
    are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying
    and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining
    and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you.
    This is actually a great site.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

